Just rambling again…

The last four days I have been down with a terrible flue. I had forgotten how small and miserable one can feel by a simple -but really mean- flue. The first day I was quite naïve and thought: no problem, I will continue my projects in bed; so I brought my sketchbooks, drawing pads, journals, pencils and pens in the sleeping room and I was satisfied with myself thinking that I had everything under control… There were many projects to think about, I’m always busy with several projects at the same time and I even started a new one since the beginning of November: PiBoIdMo (Picture Book Idea Month). Well, as I said, it was a really bad flue… and as much as I wanted to be on top of things, there are some things that cannot be controlled. So now I have to admit that I didn’t do anything for the last four days and I don’t even feel guilty about it! I’m just glad that the fever is down and the terrible headache is almost gone.

Since the beginning of November I’ve wanted to write about PiBoIdMo and I wasn’t getting the chance. Picture Book Idea Month involves writing/sketching/drawing one idea for one picture book each day during the whole month November. Tara Lazar initiated this wonderful challenge. Through her blog: http://taralazar.wordpress.com she keeps everyone inspired with great tips and ideas written by guest writers and herself. I’ve often wanted to try illustrating children’s books, but I was always too busy with other things. Now, thanks to Tara, I get the chance to -at least- give it a try, even if it is only for just one month! So I started on November 2nd, two days late and just on time to subscribe… Ideas kept on flowing in and even if I didn’t have the time to roughly work them out, I did make a rough sketch or note of them on little archive cards. That was also the point of this challenge: to get the ideas on paper, not to work them out to almost ready picture books. Yesterday was half way; by today I should have 16 ideas for picture books. I knew I hadn’t written/drawn on my cards everyday; some days I came up with 5-6 ideas, while other days my mind was busy with other things and couldn’t think of any picture book ideas…  Anxiously I counted my cards; I was happy and relieved to find out that -despite the flue- I already had 17 ideas on my note cards; so I’m back on track now!

A week ago I stumbled upon this “treasure” in the bookshop near my home. A beautiful white box containing three white/empty hardcover books ready to be transformed in wonderful picture books! There couldn’t have been a better moment, this box is ideal for me in combination with the PiBoIdMo Challenge: all I have to do is choose the three best ideas at the end of the month.

I’m going to put it first on my wish list and -if I get it- I know what I will be doing during the holidays…

The following websites are listed at the back of the box: www.uitgeverijpimento.nl , www.lebowskipublishers.nl and www.mcsweeneys.net  I haven’t checked them out yet, but I suppose that they have more information on this box.

One thought on “Just rambling again…

Leave a Reply

