Memory and Interpretation

Sketchbook page and quick sketch in oil-paint

When I made the top four sketches in my sketchbook I had the picture of my previous post in mind. Actually, not really the picture, but the moment: the wind, the smell, the sense of tremendous power of the water, the amazing light.
A month after taking the picture – too lazy to switch on my computer and look for the photograph – I made the sketches by memory; or interpretation of memory. A few days later I made the quick sketch in oil-paint also by memory since I had forgotten my sketchbook at home.
Memory of a memory and interpretation of an interpretation…
These sketches – as a starting point – will probably be a recurring theme in my work during the next months.

Leave a Reply

